Welcome to OpenWheelAmerica.com.

Follow us on Twitter @christopherlion or @OpnWhlAmerica
All images provided courtesy of the IndyCar Media site.

Friday, August 13, 2010

2011 Indianapolis 500 Logo Unveiled

In a dual ceremony that took place at both the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and the Pebble Beach Concours d'Elegance, some of the biggest names in Indianapolis 500 history unveiled the race's 2011 logo, celebrating the 100th running of the storied event and the 16th under IZOD IndyCar Series sanctioning.

Johnny Rutherford, a three-time winner of the event, helped IMS president/CEO Jeff Belskus reveal the logo at the track. The Pebble Beach ceremony was led by fellow three-time winner Bobby Unser, 1963 winner Parnelli Jones, 1985 winner Danny Sullivan, and open-wheel icon Dan Gurney.

The logo primarily features a blue banner with white letters, a black "500," and golden wings, with a red banner highlighting the 100th anniversary of the event. The IMS Creative Services department, which designed the logo, took various design elements from race logos used in the 1920s and 1930s.

Also present at the Pebble Beach ceremony was a restored 1965 Lotus-Ford, detailed exactly like the one with which Scot Jim Clark won that year's event. Its presence at the event further exhibits a revived fascination with Indy for the British company, which re-entered the sport this year as primary sponsor of Takuma Sato's No. 5 KV Racing Technology Dallara-Honda. Lotus has also announced its intention to build an aerodynamic kit for the Dallara safety cell that will be used in the 2012 IndyCar season and beyond.

No comments:

Post a Comment